New York Dreaming

In just a few short days, I’ll be hitting the road for New York City.

In the past, I never had a real inkling to see the Big Apple. I love to travel and have a mile-long list of places I need to experience first-hand, but they usually take me to countrysides and uncharted territories; experience has taught me that if you’ve seen one city, you’ve seen them all.

But when a friend offered me a deal of a lifetime to tour the famous and mysterious New York City, I thought I’d finally go and see what all the fuss is about.

And the more planning and research I do, the more excited I am for the trip.

I want to explore the New York City art scene, take a stroll in central park, drink cocktails on 5th avenue and go back in time to uncover the gritty history that has built this vibrant and colourful city, inspiring millions of people across the globe every single day.

And, as proven time and time again, no trip is complete without an accompanying playlist.

Below is a list of New York-inspired songs that will prepare you for Broadway, Vogue and the glamour of the city. Each aims to capture the angst, wonder and uniqueness of the city, with a medley of artists from Jay-Z and Beastie Boys to J-Lo and Madonna.

And because I’m so new to the scene, if you think I’ve missed a crucial piece to this symphonic puzzle or if you have any tips or advice for things I absolutely must do while in New York City, please add them to the comments below.

  1. Cee Lo Green – Bright Lights Bigger City
  2. Jay-Z Feat. Alicia Keys – Empire State of Mind
  3. Catey Shaw – Brooklyn Girls
  4. Kevin Rudolf – N.Y.C.
  5. LL Cool J – New York, New York
  6. The Chainsmokers – New York City
  7. Taylor Swift – Welcome to New York
  8. U2 – City of Blinding Lights
  9. Madonna – I love New York
  10. M83 – Midnight City
  11. Cam’ron Feat. Jay-Z and Juelz Santana – Welcome to New York City
  12. Jennifer Lopez – Jenny From the Block
  13. Tupac Shakur – Hard Knock Life (Remix)
  14. Ryan Adams – New York, New York
  15. Among Savages – New York City
  16. Something Corporate – I Woke Up In a Car
  17. Kate Voegele – Manhattan From the Sky
  18. Ed Sheeran – New York
  19. John Lennon – New York City
  20. Beastie Boys – No Sleep Till Brooklyn
  21. Bruce Springsteen – The Rising
  22. The Pogues Feat. Kristy Mac Coll – Fairytale of New York
  23. Frank Sinatra – New York, New York

Featured Image Courtesy of alforob

Leave a Reply

